Temperature measurement

What should you know about thermocouples?

Thermocouples are based on the principle of comparative measurement. A thermocouple consists of two metallic conductors of different materials which are welded together at the tip. This makes thermocouples particularly resistant to vibration. An industrial thermocouple consists of a thermocouple which is used for measurement. The terminal temperature or reference junction temperature at which the thermocouple is connected to the evaluation unit (e.g. the transmitter) always serves as the reference. This is necessary so that the ambient temperature at the terminal point does not influence the measurement result.

How is a thermocouple constructed?

Normally, the thermocouple consists of a combination of two materials with diameters ranging from 0.2 to 5 mm. When using noble materials such as rhodium or platinum, these dimensions range from 0.1 to 0.5 mm. When selecting a thermocouple material, care should be taken to ensure that it has a high Seebeck factor and that temperature affects its value as little as possible in order to achieve a linear characteristic. The appropriate thermocouple material is selected according to the range of the measured temperature.

The probe's casing is exposed to very high temperatures, so it is necessary to use different types of steel. At the highest temperatures, the thermocouple protection tube is made of heat-resistant steel or ceramic materials. The thermowell must be resistant to corrosion, thermal shock and mechanical damage. A desirable feature to prevent corrosion of the thermocouple is the impermeability of gases that could significantly accelerate the aging process of the thermocouple. There are also designs without a cover that are used to reduce dynamic errors. For special measurements, such as the temperature of liquid metals, glass or liquid steel, highly specialized thermocouple designs are used.

What metal combinations are there in thermocouples and how do you recognize them?

From the large number of possible metal combinations, certain ones have been selected and their properties standardized, in particular the series of stresses and the permissible limit deviations. The following elements have been standardized with regard to thermoelectric voltage and its tolerance both worldwide (IEC) and European or national standards.

Colour coding for thermocouples

Element

Maximum temperature

Defined until

Plus leg

Minus leg

Fe-CuNi

„J“

750°C

1200°C

black

white

Ce-CuNi

„T“

350°C

400°C

brown

white

NiCr-Ni

„K“

1200°C

1370°C

green

white

NiCr-CuNi

„E“

900°C

1000°C

purple

white

NiCrSi-NiSi

„N“

1200°C

1300°C

pink

white

Pt10Rh-Pt

„S“

1600°C

1540°C

orange

white

Pt13Rh-Pt

„R“

1600°C

1760°C

orange

white

Pt30Rh-Pt6Rh

„B“

1700°C

1820°C

grey

white

Thermocouples according to DIN EN 60 584

 

Element

Maximum temperature

Defined until

Plus leg

Minus leg

Fe-CuNi

„L“

700°C

900°C

red

blue

Ce-CuNi

„U“

400°C

600°C

red

brown

Thermocouples according to DIN 43 710

Colour coding of compensating cables

Element

Type

Mantle

Plus leg

Minus leg

Cu-CuNi

„T“

brown

brown

white

Fe-CuNi

„J“

black

black

white

NiCr-Ni

„K“

green

green

white

NiCrSi-NiSi

„N“

pink

pink

white

NiCr-CuNi

„E“

purple

purple

white

Pt10Rh-Pt

„S“

orange

orange

white

Pt13Rh-Pt

„R“

orange

orange

white

Colour coding for elements according to DIN EN 60 584

 

Element

Type

Mantle

Plus leg

Minus leg

Fe-CuNi

„L“

blue

red

blue

Ce-CuNi

„U“

brown

red

brown

Colour coding for elements according to DIN 43 713

 

Element

Type

Mantle

Plus leg

Minus leg

NiCr-Ni

„K“

green

red

green

Pt10Rh-Pt

„S“

white

red

white

Pt13Rh-Pt

„R“

white

red

white

Colour coding for elements according to DIN 43 714, Status 1979


How does a thermocouple work?

The principle of thermocouples is the result of the so-called Seebeck effect. This phenomenon can be explained by the theory of free electrons, according to which different types of conductors have a different density of free electrons. At the contact point of two different conductors forming a thermocouple, electrons will move from one conductor to the other. A larger number of electrons will move from a higher density conductor to a lower density conductor. The intensity of electron migration depends on the temperature of the contact point of the two conductors, it is also higher the higher the temperature. The electromotive force formed in a thermocouple circuit consisting of two different conductors whose ends have been placed at different temperatures is given by the formula:

V=(S-SA)⋅(T2-T1)

The resulting electromotive force is on the order of a few to several dozen microvolts per degree Celsius.

How to choose the right thermocouple?

The choice of thermocouple type depends primarily on the operating temperature. Furthermore, an element with a high thermoelectric voltage should be selected in order to obtain a measurement signal that is as insensitive to interference as possible. In the following table: Properties of Thermocouples the different elements are listed together with a short characterization. The recommended maximum temperatures can only be assumed as basic values, as they depend strongly on the application conditions. They refer to a wire diameter of 3 mm for the base and 0.5 mm for the noble elements.


Cu-CuNi

350°C

Little spread.

Fe-CuNi

700°C

Widely used, inexpensive, susceptible to corrosion.

NiCr-CuNi

700°C

Low spread, high thermoelectric voltage.

NiCr-Ni

1000°C

Often used in the range 800 - 1000°C, also suitable for the lower temperature range.

NiCrSi-NiSi

1300°C

(Still) little widespread. Can partially replace noble elements.

Pt10Rh-Pt

1500°C (1300°C)

High costs, very good long-term consistency, closely tolerated.

Pt30Rh-Pt6Rh

1700°C

High costs, lowest thermovoltage, high maximum temperature.



What do you do in the event of a short circuit or an interruption?

A thermocouple does not supply voltage if the measuring temperature is equal to the reference junction temperature. If a thermocouple or the compensating cable is short-circuited, the new measuring point is created at the location of the short-circuit. If such a short-circuit occurs, for example in the connection head, the temperature of the actual measuring point is no longer displayed, but that of the connection head. If there is an interruption in the measuring circuit, the subsequent device displays the reference junction temperature.

How to connect a thermocouple?

The length of the thermocouple or compensation cable is of secondary importance due to the low internal resistance. However, for longer cable lengths with a small cross-section, the resistance of the thermocouple or compensating cable can assume comparatively high values. In order to avoid display errors, the internal resistance of the input circuit of slave devices must be at least 1000 times greater than the resistance of the connected thermocouple. Only compensating cables of the same material as the element itself or with the same thermoelectric properties may be used, otherwise a new element will be created at the junction. The compensating cable must be laid up to the reference junction. When connecting thermocouples, the polarity must be observed.

Mesure de la température

Que devez-vous savoir sur les thermocouples ?

Les thermocouples sont basés sur le principe mesure comparative. Un thermocouple se compose de deux éléments métalliques des conducteurs de différents matériaux qui sont soudés ensemble à la pointe. soudé à la pointe. Cela rend les thermocouples particulièrement résistants aux vibrations. Un thermocouple industriel consiste en un thermocouple qui est utilisé pour mesure. La référence est toujours la la température terminale ou la température de jonction de référence, à laquelle la le thermocouple est connecté à l'unité d'évaluation (par exemple l'émetteur). émetteur. Cela est nécessaire pour que la température ambiante du terminal la température au point de connexion n'influence pas le résultat de la mesure.

Table des matières

Qu'est-ce qu'un thermocouple?

Les thermocouples sont basés sur le principe de la mesure comparative et sont constitués de deux conducteurs métalliques de matériaux différents soudés ensemble au niveau de la pointe. En fonction de l'appariement des matériaux, ils présentent différents niveaux de tension thermoélectrique et sont adaptés à différentes plages de température. Les thermocouples de type K et les thermocouples de type J sont les plus utilisés.

Comment un thermocouple est-il construit?

Normalement, le thermocouple est constitué d'une combinaison de deux matériaux dont le diamètre varie entre 0,2 et 5 mm. Lors de l'utilisation de matériaux nobles tels que le rhodium ou le platine, ces dimensions varient de 0,1 à 0,5 mm. Lors de la sélection d'un matériau de thermocouple, il faut veiller à ce qu'il ait un facteur Seebeck élevé et que la température affecte le moins possible sa valeur afin d'obtenir une caractéristique linéaire. Le matériau de thermocouple approprié est choisi en fonction de la plage de la température mesurée.

La gaine extérieure du capteur est exposée à des températures très élevées, il est donc nécessaire d'utiliser différents types d'acier. Aux températures les plus élevées, le tube de protection du thermocouple est en acier ou en céramique résistant à la chaleur. Le fourreau doit être résistant à la corrosion, aux chocs thermiques et aux dommages mécaniques. Une caractéristique souhaitable pour prévenir la corrosion du thermocouple est l'imperméabilité aux gaz qui pourrait accélérer considérablement le processus de vieillissement du thermocouple. Il existe également des dessins sans couverture qui servent à réduire les erreurs dynamiques. Pour les mesures spéciales, comme la température des métaux liquides, du verre ou de l'acier liquide, on utilise des thermocouples hautement spécialisés.

Quelles propriétés un thermocouple doit-il avoir ?

La gaine de protection doit être résistante à la corrosion, aux chocs thermiques et aux dommages mécaniques. Une caractéristique souhaitable pour éviter la corrosion du thermocouple est l'imperméabilité aux gaz qui pourraient accélérer considérablement le processus de vieillissement du thermocouple. Les conceptions sans couverture peuvent être utilisées pour réduire les erreurs dynamiques.

En outre, lors du choix d'un matériau de thermocouple, il convient de s'assurer qu'il possède un facteur Seebeck élevé et que la température influence le moins possible sa valeur afin d'obtenir une courbe caractéristique linéaire.

Quelle est la différence entre les thermocouples et les sondes à résistance ?

Contrairement à une sonde à résistance, un thermocouple peut être utilisé dans une plage de températures beaucoup plus élevée. De plus, les thermocouples sont plus robustes et résistent mieux aux contraintes mécaniques.

Quelles sont les combinaisons de métaux présentes dans les thermocouples et comment les reconnaître ?

Parmi le grand nombre de combinaisons de métaux possibles, certaines ont été sélectionnées et leurs propriétés ont été normalisées, notamment les séries de tension et les écarts limites admissibles. Les éléments suivants sont normalisés au niveau mondial (CEI) ainsi qu'au niveau européen ou national en ce qui concerne la tension thermoélectrique et sa tolérance.

Codage couleur pour les thermocouples

Element

Maximum temperature

Defined until

Plus leg

Minus leg

Fe-CuNi

„J“

750°C

1200°C

black

white

Ce-CuNi

„T“

350°C

400°C

brown

white

NiCr-Ni

„K“

1200°C

1370°C

green

white

NiCr-CuNi

„E“

900°C

1000°C

purple

white

NiCrSi-NiSi

„N“

1200°C

1300°C

pink

white

Pt10Rh-Pt

„S“

1600°C

1540°C

orange

white

Pt13Rh-Pt

„R“

1600°C

1760°C

orange

white

Pt30Rh-Pt6Rh

„B“

1700°C

1820°C

gray

white

Thermocouples selon la norme DIN EN 60 584


Element

Maximum temperature

Defined until

Plus leg

Minus leg

Fe-CuNi

„L“

700°C

900°C

red

blue

Ce-CuNi

„U“

400°C

600°C

red

brown

Thermocouples selon la norme DIN 43 710


Colour coding of compensating cables

Element

Type

Mantle

Plus leg

Minus leg

Cu-CuNi

„T“

brown

brown

white

Fe-CuNi

„J“

black

black

white

NiCr-Ni

„K“

green

green

white

NiCrSi-NiSi

„N“

pink

pink

white

NiCr-CuNi

„E“

purple

purple

white

Pt10Rh-Pt

„S“

orange

orange

white

Pt13Rh-Pt

„R“

orange

orange

white

Codage couleur pour les thermocouples selon la norme DIN EN 60 584


Element

Type

Mantle

Plus leg

Minus leg

Fe-CuNi

„L“

blue

red

blue

Ce-CuNi

„U“

brown

red

brown

Codage couleur pour les thermocouples selon la norme DIN 43 713

 

Element

Type

Mantle

Plus leg

Minus leg

NiCr-Ni

„K“

green

red

green

Pt10Rh-Pt

„S“

white

red

white

Pt13Rh-Pt

„R“

white

red

white

Codage couleur pour les thermocouples selon la norme DIN 43 714, Status 1979


Voltages of different thermocouples relative to a reference temperature of 0 °C according to DIN EN 60584

Comment fonctionne un thermocouple?

Le principe des thermocouples est le résultat de ce qu'on appelle l'effet Seebeck. Ce phénomène peut s'expliquer par la théorie des électrons libres, selon laquelle différents types de conducteurs ont une densité différente d'électrons libres. Au point de contact de deux conducteurs différents formant un thermocouple, les électrons se déplaceront d'un conducteur à l'autre. Un plus grand nombre d'électrons passe d'un conducteur de plus forte densité à un conducteur de plus faible densité. L'intensité de la migration des électrons dépend de la température du point de contact des deux conducteurs, elle est également d'autant plus élevée que la température est élevée. La force électromotrice formée dans un circuit de thermocouple composé de deux conducteurs différents dont les extrémités ont été placées à des températures différentes est donnée par la formule:

V=(S-SA)⋅(T2-T1)

La force électromotrice résultante est de l'ordre de quelques à plusieurs dizaines de microvolts par degré Celsius.

 

Example measuring chain thermocouple

Comment choisir le bon thermocouple?

Le choix du type de thermocouple dépend principalement de la température de l'application. En outre, un élément à haute tension thermoélectrique doit être sélectionné afin d'obtenir un signal de mesure aussi insensible que possible aux interférences. Le tableau suivant : Propriétés des thermocouples énumère les différents éléments ainsi qu'une brève caractérisation. Les températures maximales recommandées ne peuvent être considérées que comme des valeurs de base, car elles dépendent fortement des conditions d'utilisation. Ils se réfèrent à un diamètre de fil de 3 mm pour les éléments de base et de 0,5 mm pour les éléments nobles.


Cu-CuNi

350°C

Little spread.

Fe-CuNi

700°C

Widely used, inexpensive, susceptible to corrosion.

NiCr-CuNi

700°C

Low spread, high thermoelectric voltage.

NiCr-Ni

1000°C

Often used in the range 800 - 1000°C, also suitable for the lower temperature range.

NiCrSi-NiSi

1300°C

(Still) little widespread. Can partially replace noble elements.

Pt10Rh-Pt

1500°C (1300°C)

High costs, very good long-term consistency, closely tolerated.

Pt30Rh-Pt6Rh

1700°C

High costs, lowest thermovoltage, high maximum temperature.

Comment un thermocouple est-il connecté?

La longueur du câble thermoélectrique ou de compensation est d'une importance secondaire en raison de la faible résistance interne. Cependant, pour les grandes longueurs de câble de faible section, la résistance des câbles thermoélectriques ou de compensation peut prendre des valeurs comparativement élevées. Pour éviter les erreurs d'affichage, la résistance interne du circuit d'entrée des unités esclaves doit être au moins 1000 fois supérieure à la résistance du thermocouple connecté. Seuls les câbles de compensation fabriqués dans le même matériau que l'élément lui-même ou ayant les mêmes propriétés thermoélectriques peuvent être utilisés, sinon un nouvel élément sera créé au point de connexion. Le câble de compensation doit être posé jusqu'à la jonction de référence. Lors du raccordement des thermocouples, il faut respecter la polarité.

 

Que faites-vous en cas de court-circuit ou d'interruption ?

Un thermocouple ne fournit pas de tension si la température de mesure est égale à la température de la soudure froide. Si un thermocouple ou la jonction de référence est court-circuité, le nouveau point de mesure est créé à l'endroit du court-circuit. Si un tel court-circuit se produit, par exemple, dans la tête de raccordement, la température affichée n'est plus celle du point de mesure réel, mais celle de la tête de raccordement. En cas d'interruption du circuit de mesure, l'appareil suivant affiche la température de la jonction de référence.